SMOK Stick V12 Prince Review: Nothing Compares 2 It

SMOK Stick Prince85100

So now we’re not getting the bottom of the barrel from SMOKTech. Just finished wrapping up the review of the SMOK Veneno (which means “poison” in Spanish, by the by) and I filled that review with my recriminations against the existential crisis the SMOK Veneno had since it didn’t really know what it was about.

The Stick V12 Prince does not have that problem. It is a part of that royal SMOK family that also includes the Cloud Beast King tank and coil system.

SMOK STICK V12 PRINCE Review

 

But instead of working in conjunction with a box mod, the clever devils at SMOKTech have paired the TFV12’s fantastic performance with a 3000mAh battery in a vape pen form. Now, this is something I can write about.

I remember reviewing the SMOK AIO Stick a while back, and it was an impressive device with a never-ending suite of features. Most of those exciting features have now been taken over by the TFV12 tank like airflow control and the tank capacity.

And keeping in line with the simplicity of the SMOK AIO Stick, the SMOK Stick Prince has only one button and no OLED screen to read out or display information. It works much like a vape pen would but with the TFV12 and its quadruple coils striding atop it, the SMOK Stick Price is most assuredly a cloud-chucker.

The Goods

Here’s what you’ll find in the SMOK Stick Prince starter kit:

  • One Stick Prince
  • One TFV12 Prince tank
  • One V12 Prince – M4 0.17ohm quadruple coil
  • One spare V12 Prince – M4 0.17ohm quadruple coil
  • One USB charging cable
  • One instruction manual
  • One bag of spare parts

Taking a Look at the SMOK Stick Prince

They say heavy is the head that wears the crown, and at 3000mAh the SMOK Stick Prince battery is kinda hefty. The battery is built-in, and it is all battery covered by a stainless steel finish and comes in at almost 90g in weight.

There is one hexagonally-shaped firing/power button near the top of the battery. The button has an LED indicator light that surrounds it and also acts as your battery level indicator when it begins to flash red. The LED light has many functions that we’ll get to later.

The battery base has a few raises and depressions carved into it, which I guess supposed to be the aesthetic addition to the SMOK Stick Prince, although they don’t add much to the overall design. The dimensions of the SMOK Stick Prince put it at the height and width of most standard box mods, at 88mm high and 25mm wide.

I was curious to see if there was a 510 connector on the SMOK Stick Prince; it would have been truly disappointing if SMOK had made the SMOK Stick Prince incompatible with any other tank. But luckily, the SMOK Stick Prince does have a 510 connector so you can attach another atomizer to the battery.

Another great feature that the SMOK team decided to include with the SMOK Stick Prince is the bubble tank, which had to be bought separately with the SMOK Veneno but comes standard with the TFV12 Prince tank in this kit and increases your e-juice capacity to 8ml. There is a USB charging port on the right side of the firing button, and thanks to the Prince’s airflow vents there are no airflow vents anywhere else on the battery.

Getting to Know the Device

A vape pen is the definition of simplicity (pod mods too). There are not many adjustable features, and unlike with dry herb and wax vaporizers, there are no other temperature settings on the SMOK Stick Prince.

To use the SMOK Stick Prince, you attach the TFV12 Prince tank to the battery, fill your tank with e-juice, let it saturate for a few minutes. Then you turn the device on by clicking the firing button five times, which will then turn on the LED indicator lights.

The lights will flash for a specific amount of time, fifteen times if the battery is running low, for example, to indicate battery level. The LED light also flashes whenever you take a vape.

That’s it for what the battery can do; the rest is done by the TFV12 Prince tank and the octuple coils inside the M4, which we will be taking a look at in the next section.

The Test Vape with the SMOK Stick Prince

I have used the TFV12 Prince tank with many other SMOK devices, but also alone with different high-powered devices. This is, however, the first time I’m using the M4 coils that vape best between 30W-70W.

I filled my tank up with some Appleicious from 180 Smoke and screwed together the TFV12 and the 3000mAh battery. I clicked the firing button fives times, and the LED indicator light started flashing.

I pressed and inhaled. The device fired close to instantly and only after a few sub-par vapes; I started feeling more and more taste and the clouds got steadily thicker and bigger as well.

I realized that the SMOK Stick Prince works mainly like a mech mod with the battery and coil working together to vape the e-juice and also not to destroy each other through any disparities in power or coil resistance.

There are a lot of protections included in the SMOK Stick Price like low voltage protection, and it comes in handy with an unbridled battery like the SMOK Stick Prince has.

Stacking it Up

A vape pen with a 3000mAh battery? That’s hard to find. But who else should have a similar device – a vape pen-style 3000mAh battery – than SMOK and their Vape Pen Plus model that also has a 3000mAh battery and one-button operation.

The Vape Pen Plus has its 4ml tank integrated into the battery itself, so there’s no unscrewing or screwing on of a tank, which makes it easier to clean and replace broken parts. The SMOK Stick Prince can be used with a variety of different tanks and coils that can handle at least 4V of power and holds double the amount of e-juice as the Vape Pen Plus.

So it’s those little differences that set the SMOK Stick Prince apart from the Vape Pen Plus. The battery capacity may be the same, but the SMOK Stick Prince offers more customizability and also more e-juice capacity. The Prince reigns.

You Will Love

Innovation

I thought the pairing of the TFV12 Prince tank with a vape pen battery was a brilliant idea. The designers at SMOKTech must have thought “we have all these great tanks, why not attach one to a vape pen?”, and the answer to that question is the excellent SMOK Stick Prince.

Performance

There’s not much more you could ask from a tank and coil combination as you have with the TFV12 Prince and the M4 coils. The right amount of power went through the coils, and the resultant clouds were majestic and savory.

Versatility

Despite the inspired pairing of a 3000mAh battery with the TFV12 Prince, should you feel the need for a lower voltage vape the SMOK Stick Prince can accommodate you with its 510 connector.

You Won’t Love

No adjustable features

I know it doesn’t make much sense to criticize a vape pen for not having adjustable features, but some of them do have them, like adjustable temperature and voltage settings, so don’t tell me it’s not possible.

Wrapping Up

I was a little surprised by the boldness of the SMOK Stick Prince; it was something I wasn’t expecting at all. But, when you see it, it makes perfect sense to marry a great-performing tank and coil option like the TFV12 with a powerful, long-lasting, and one-button battery.

The result is somewhat surprising. It doesn’t come that well together, aesthetically speaking. The addition of the bubble tank makes the Prince bulge out a little, but it didn’t distract too much. It had the same appearance as other top-heavy vape pens.

But when it came down to cloud production and quality, the SMOK Stick Prince did not disappoint. It worked beautifully and left a lasting impression.

I give the SMOK Stick Prince an 8/10.

Published: December 18, 2017 Updated: February 4, 2019



avatar


Comments

Leave a comment

52 comments on “SMOK Stick V12 Prince Review: Nothing Compares 2 It
  • stashon
    October 27, 2019 at 10:22 am

    I love to smoke

  • Kristie Dunnahoo
    September 4, 2019 at 8:03 pm

    My vape blinks 3 times when I push the button

  • Anita haddon
    February 21, 2019 at 4:35 pm

    My smok stick prince battery heats up when I’m vaping why is this

  • Victor Sheffield
    September 29, 2018 at 12:55 pm

    Can I use said tank on a lower wattage compact mod box? I have a 40 watt that I normally use as a standby and just bought this stick prince!

  • SJS_Survivor
    August 18, 2018 at 1:05 pm

    So what is the consensus about WHICH SMOK Stick Prince 8ml tank coil provides the MOST FLAVOR?

  • Vinicius Ferreira
    August 18, 2018 at 12:32 am

    Someone here has used the Rba base on the Prince. Which coil did you use? I bought the base rba to use on the stick but it is not very sure, I do not know how many ohm the coil should have, I used Dual coil 0.17 ohm

  • Tam
    August 4, 2018 at 6:17 am

    Battery on smok prince stick flashing 4 times what’s wrong

  • Ciciks
    July 3, 2018 at 10:56 am

    Im new to this and just bought one as a starter kit. Do you know if the wick in M4 can be changed or do i have to buy a new set of coils everytime?

    • jouko
      March 8, 2019 at 2:56 am

      New every time.

  • Rik Fawcett
    July 3, 2018 at 3:25 am

    I’ve had mine a good while and just lately am going through coils like mad.. I’m using M4 coils and new to our area (Grimsby) cloudZberg liquid.. Some flavours seem OK but others seem to taste burnt very easily.. Really like the device just after advice to get the very best out it.. Thanks in advance

  • Eli
    June 22, 2018 at 8:02 pm

    Is this product safe from the explosions etc..?

    • Bruce Lafone
      November 23, 2018 at 12:12 pm

      Yes, built in features. Smok is pretty good about this.

    • jouko
      March 8, 2019 at 2:57 am

      Very safe !

  • John
    June 11, 2018 at 3:53 am

    On my stick prince why does it take over 4 to 5 hrs to charge you would think it would charge faster

    • Cici
      June 26, 2018 at 12:14 pm

      Having the same issue, left mine to charge for 7 hours and still didn’t get the charge led light to go off to show it was fully charged. Also have noticed when the low voltage blinks start, the area around air holes are running really hot. I just bought mine a few days ago and had the guy inside hook it all up for me but had to go back the next day because it was shooting hot oil back up at my lip (thought I was being shocked at first, that’s what it felt like) and then when I pressed the button for a moment without hitting it, it was shooting up hot oil like lava plumes! Brought it back in and was told not to let it turn on it’s side, am I really supposed to hit this thing like a peace pipe every time?! Lost 1/2 a tank of juice in 1 day from leakage alone. Went back, guy gave me a 5 coil, still the same issue and feeling like I got a bad stick! I spent too much money for these worries!

      • Ben
        July 4, 2018 at 10:13 am

        Check the white seal at the fill point, I had the same problem too until I changed it out with the spare, that seemed to fix it, check the others are clean while you’re at it. I also followed someones advice to first screw the coil into the bottom, then the top part, I don’t know whether or not that had any influence on the leakage stopping though.

  • Joshua
    May 28, 2018 at 1:50 am

    I just recently bought me a stick prince and may I say I like on how it can Chuck clouds it is still a new device to me I am used to my 220w alien but sadly enough it went tips up on me oh well smoke is my favorite vape product out there keep up the great work Smok you all have a wonderful vaping day

  • Rahul
    May 26, 2018 at 2:39 am

    Can i use x6 and t10 coil in stick prince kit?

    • Taste is King - 0mg nic!!!
      June 3, 2018 at 7:50 pm

      I tried the T10 coil (0.15 Ohm) in the TFV12 on the Stick Prince, and it cannot deal with it properly in my case. Taste has left the building, because it can’t reach a high enough wattage. On my Smoant Cylon it takes about 75 to 90 watts to get bang on taste. Feels like the Stick Prince hits the T10 coil with about 50-55 watts. The M4 did well until it started to taste burnt after 1 day. The replacement Q4 coils leaked all over the place (faulty seals). Although a bit heavy, my daily vape is the Smoant Cylon with the TFV12 Prince tank and T10 coils. Guzzles down juice like there is no tomorrow. Dat taste though! Everything else just tastes muted.

  • jhon
    May 22, 2018 at 1:16 am

    is it harm full for health?

  • Aaron D
    May 20, 2018 at 1:07 pm

    Beautiful mod, no leaks, still on the same coil one week in and still seems good using high VG juice. So good I’ve now bought three of them. The green splatter one is awesome! Love it. Thanks SmokTech

  • Tasha
    May 19, 2018 at 4:27 am

    How do you prime your coils. I’m new to vaping and this is my first one.!i want to take very good care of my Prince. Any suggestions are very appreciated

    • Chet
      June 1, 2018 at 1:45 pm

      Before installing I make sure to give all exposed cotton a couple/squirts to make sure all the cotton is wet…..Since you can’t make absolutely sure the cotton has absorbed all it can absorb I’ll drip a few more drops directly directly on the coils…..once installed and filled it will absorb a bit more (note a reduction of juice and when it doesn’t look like there’s less it’s totally primed) tapping lightly will sometimes release air bubbles too. Usually waiting 15/20 minutes will be enough to ensure it’s primed.

  • Michelle Sanders
    May 2, 2018 at 8:42 pm

    Can you use any ejuice in the Smok Prince stick or do you have to use Smok brand only

    • aaron samuel
      July 15, 2018 at 12:20 am

      i wanna know this too, i think you can use up to 6 mg with these coils and it doesn’t matter what brand. 70vg and 30 pg would be standard for most eliquids and they should work just fine

  • Randi
    April 22, 2018 at 5:22 am

    I have eight different Vapes in all different brands but the smok Prince is my absolute favorite one. I do have one question though, can you use a cloud Beast coil in the prince tank?

  • Bubbles
    April 16, 2018 at 5:00 am

    I’m having to change my coils often because I’m getting burnt hits. I make sure I prime my coils AND let them sit a while to ensure it’s soaked properly. I just put in a new coil on fri evening and by sun I’m getting burnt hits. What’s the problem?

    • Chet
      April 26, 2018 at 1:52 am

      Im having the same problem, I have had it 2 weeks and had to change coil twice , I have primed them all too???????

      • Kamrin Chizek
        June 13, 2018 at 5:13 pm

        If you are still using the standard coils that it come with, I would recommend you switch to the Q8 or T10 coils. I’m guessing you just have too much power going into the coils that they cannot withstand. These two coils are rated for more wattage and I’m hoping they will solve your problem. In case you were wondering, I use the T10 in my TFV12 Prince stick and it works great.

    • Daniel
      May 15, 2018 at 12:23 pm

      Bubbles and Chet, I don’t have any advice for what’s wrong with your vapes, but I own this model and haven’t had these problems at all, so I think it’s possible you got your hands on bad units. Actually, I left this last coil in for a full month (I procrastinated ordering replacement coils) and it still tastes fine to me. It tastes different, I think, being older, but it’s not noticeably burnt tasting at all.

      So it seems like nobody replies to these comments ever, but I’ll take a shot anyway. Yesterday I dropped my vape and the glass part of the tank broke. I ordered another, but it’s gonna be a couple more days or so before it arrives, so I decided to use my Aspire Nautilus Mini like I have in the past, just to get me by till the replacement head arrives. Like I said, I’ve done this before and didn’t have any issues, but yesterday and today I’ve been having major leaking problems… the juice ends up running out the air hole and a full tank will be gone an hour or two later. I took everything apart, checked all the seals, replaced the Nautilus coil, nothing has helped. I suspect now that the Stick Prince’s voltage just isn’t high enough to keep up with the flow, back when I was using my old (variable) battery I usually had it set around 7.0w and that rarely had leaking issues.

      Reading this article (the author mentioned using a coil that vapes best at 30w-70w) I feel like the Stick Prince’s output should be high enough to keep up with the Nautilus Mini coils and not leak, although admittedly I never quiet wrapped my head around the relationship between ohms, volts, and watts, so I can’t be certain. But the voltage being too low is the only remaining possibility I can think of since I checked the seals and changed the coil already. But if anyone has any other suggestions then I’m all ears. Even once the new TFV12 arrives later this week, I still would like to be able to swap back to the Nautilus head from time to time because the cloud is a lot less conspicuous so it’s better if I’m at work or in a store or something. I just don’t get why it would suddenly have a major leaking problem just now when it never did before.

      If it ends up making a difference, I had the Nautilus in my pants pocket and ran it through the washer and dryer, then because there was some soap in the juice, I emptied it and rinsed all the pieces and changed the coil. But I’m pretty sure I put it all back together correctly.

  • Potta
    March 8, 2018 at 4:38 pm

    Great clouds & taste but my coils only seem to last like 5 day’s!!! I’ve heard the x6 coils last longer

    • Kojack
      October 18, 2018 at 11:57 am

      If you use a e-juice with a higher VG ratio you’ll burn through coils faster. Also sweeter e-juice clog up the coils faster as well.

  • Dale
    March 7, 2018 at 1:54 am

    Got one to day it is fantastick going to get another one

  • Richard Davis
    March 5, 2018 at 1:25 am

    I have two of these devices and they both leak frequently through the airflow. Not impressed and certainly would not recommend.

    • Stephen Smith
      April 12, 2018 at 9:35 pm

      Richard Davis I had the same problem until I switched from 50/50 pg/vg to max vg
      My problem now is that the battery won’t hold a charge very long. if I charge the rig to full it will only work for 2-3 hours of normal use. The rig is only about 2 months old.

    • Richard Larking
      April 13, 2018 at 1:59 pm

      Check that the coil is seated securely at the black rubber at the bottom of the atomizer. I had this issue and now works flawlessly.

    • Craig
      June 15, 2018 at 12:38 pm

      Then you installed it wrong I’ve been using this for 3 months no hiccups check ur vape handling skills man or you got a defective one which isn’t unheard of

  • Edgar Wince
    March 1, 2018 at 11:57 pm

    I like the mod but the coils suck. I buy smok replacement coil and prime them accordingly but still taste like crap. Not sure if it’s a production problem but thinking about switching to a different brand

  • Lene B
    March 1, 2018 at 12:23 pm

    Make sure to always prime your coils especially with this one! It took a good half hour for the coil already installed to soak in the juice because i didn’t prime it! Second thing I have found with the smok tank coils is to take a safety pin and poke Holes into the cotton showing through the slits on the side of the coils! On or two pokes per slit around the coil works great! Bam no dry hits and it made my coils actually last longer! Just be careful not to damage your coil!!

  • Lene B
    March 1, 2018 at 12:21 pm

    Make sure to always promenade your couldn’t especially with this one! It took a good half hour for the coil already installed to soak in the juice because i didn’t prime it! Second thing I have found with the smok tank coils is to take a safety pin and poke Holes into the cotton showing through the slits on the side of the coils! On or two pokes per slit around the coil works great! Bam no dry hits and it made my coils actually last longer! Just be careful not to damage your coil!!

  • Corey
    February 22, 2018 at 2:32 pm

    You can to ejuiceconnect or 101vape they both have low prices

  • Cree
    February 19, 2018 at 9:23 pm

    Just bought one and I’m in love.

  • darren Zingerman
    January 4, 2018 at 10:44 pm

    Can anyone help? I have the mod and I keep.getting burnt hits. Correct me if I’m.wrong but doesn’t the mod hit at 100w and the coil only goes up.to 70w?

    • Lene B
      March 1, 2018 at 12:24 pm

      Always prime your coil especially with this one! It took a good half hour for the coil already installed to soak in the juice because i didn’t prime it! Second thing I have found with the smok tank coils is to take a safety pin and poke Holes into the cotton showing through the slits on the side of the coils! On or two pokes per slit around the coil works great! Bam no dry hits and it made my coils actually last longer! Just be careful not to damage your coil!!

    • Bwide
      April 5, 2018 at 11:29 pm

      No it does not fire at 100 watts.

    • Nate
      May 21, 2018 at 10:02 pm

      It helps to open the latch at the top and get a little air in there. Usually it tastes better after that for a while.

    • tim
      October 4, 2018 at 1:56 pm

      first,the stick does have way too much power for the coil when fully charged.i have been only charging about half charge.it works , but you have to charge more frequently.someone below suggests Q8 orT10 coils because of the voltage capacity.also poking holes and other tricks are an option,but if you are a new vaper be careful whose advise you take

  • albert
    December 31, 2017 at 12:41 pm

    hi I am going to order one as soon as I get a chance

    • albert
      January 1, 2018 at 11:54 am

      can someone help me to buy the stick prince kit where do I go to order one or two please help me..

      • Saif
        February 25, 2018 at 6:13 pm

        Litejoy.co.in

    • Mike
      April 30, 2018 at 2:22 am

      I’ve had one since February. I was going through coils left and right so now….I poke a hole in the cotton through the side ports of the coils. Works like a charm to avoid dry hits/burnt coil. I’m completely new to vaping, but overall, the Smok Stick Prince has worked well and I don’t have to worry about settings and such. I push the button, and vape away at leisure.

    • Donny abbott
      June 29, 2018 at 8:42 pm

      I am now doing better now that I have my new prince stick vapor for the past two months and I have never had any cravings for one cigarette at all I am glad that I got away from smoking after 27 year’s and I have been asked to have a cigarette with other friends who still smoke and I refused to them about having a smoke and told them all that i have given up smoking and I have all of the family and friends surprised and happy about what I have done for my life.